Let’s start at beginning

November 26, 2009 at 6:29 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been looking to do my own tech startup for a while and after some time working with startups, I’ve learnt a few things:

  • Find a big market to support a big company
  • Management TEAM is critical
  • Focus on execution and a clear route to market

Initially, when thinking about “my” startup, I was thinking about the big idea… I thought about things from dating 2.0 to e-commerce loyalty programmes.  However, I quickly learned that any idea I had there were already people (usually much better placed) thinking about it and doing it… Therefore I focussed my attention on finding the right people to work with.

With this in mind I have spent the last 12 months networking with the brightest entrepreneurs… during this time I was able to meet a very talented and visionary CTO of a reasonably successful web business. He had been incubating a web app to help SMEs manage their recruitment process – a product born out of his own frustrations managing hundreds of emails from applicants and agencies.

To cut a long story short I offered him some feedback, we built a rapport and decided it would be good to look at the opportunity together.  The ultimate conclusion being that I would help setup this business with a view to running it going forwards. The proposition has also evolved since but more on this later.

I am now a part-time CEO. Scary thought!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Why a recruitment startup? The strategy & vision Part I

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


